Perry appoints Raimer chair of Texas Institute of Health Care board - Your Houston News

Gov. Rick Perry has named Ben Raimer of Galveston chair and appointed 13 members to the Texas Institute of Health Care Quality and Efficiency Board of Directors. Pursuant to Senate Bill 7 of the 82nd Legislative Session, the institute will improve health care quality, accountability, education and cost to the state by encouraging health care provider collaboration, effective health care delivery models and coordination of health care services.


Alexia Green of Ransom Canyon is a professor and dean emeritus at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Anita Thigpen Perry School of Nursing. She is co-leader of the Texas Team Advancing Health through Nursing, a member of the American Nurses Association, and past president of the Texas Nurses Association. Green received a bachelor’s degree from the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston, a master’s degree in nursing from the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, and a Doctorate of Nursing from Texas Woman’s University. She is appointed for a term to expire Jan. 31, 2015.

Read the full story >>

Related Stories

Remembering Dr. Tom McGovern

TTUHSC Celebration of Life Service was held March 25th in remembrance of Tom McGovern, Ed.D.

TTUHSC Ranks Fourth Nationally Among Graduate Institutions as a Military Friendly® School

TTUHSC has been named as a Military Friendly® School for 2022-2023. Among graduate schools, TTUHSC ranked fourth in the nation, achieving Gold award status.

TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy Students Celebrate Residency Assignments on Match Day

On March 16, fourth-year TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy students interested in completing a residency after they graduate in May, learned where they would spend the next stage of their training during the Pharmacy Residency Match Day.

Recent Stories


TTUHSC Receives CPRIT Grant to Begin New Outreach Effort

CPRIT recently awarded a $1 million prevention grant to Rakhshanda Rahman, M.D., Rebeccah Baucom, M.D., and John Kidwell, M.D., from the TTUHSC School of Medicine.


Startups Begin Here! Four Startups Awarded $50,000 from TTUHSC President

The Innovation Hub at Research Park today (September 26, 2022) announced the winners of its annual Presidents' Innovative Startup Awards. The award recognizes startups that have a high potential for growth and an economic impact in West Texas.


Fifth Graders Become Doctors for a Day

Fifth graders from Bean Elementary School became doctors for a day. The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) Student National Medical Association (SNMA) hosted the Doctors for a Day Minicamp on Sept. 23.