New Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Officers to be Honored

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) Student Government Association (SGA) will host its awards and annual installation banquet at 6 p.m. Friday (April 27) at the Lubbock Country Club 3400 Mesa Road. Newly elected SGA officers, outstanding faculty, students and graduating seniors will be honored.

Elected officers 2012-2013 include:

President — Jason Chandrapal, a first-year medical student from Houston. Chandrapal will begin his second year next semester.

Vice President of Communications — Dalan Gore, a senior in Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences, who will begin his master’s in the speech language pathology this summer. He is from Tulia.

Vice President of Operations — Steven McDonald, currently a first-year student in the Doctor of Physical Therapy program and will begin his second year next semester. He is from Lubbock.

Vice President of Finance — Jonathan R. Ford, currently a second-year medical student. He will begin his third year next semester. He is returning for a second term as vice president of finance and is from Bellville.

Awards presented will include:

Outstanding organization of the year — RaiderThon

Outstanding SGA committee of the year — Community Service, Chairperson Dalan Gore

Outstanding senator of the year — Nikki Sandt

Outstanding faculty — School of Allied Health Sciences - Michael Taylor, MPAS, PA-C; Melinda Corwin, Ph.D., CCC-SLP; Stephen Zupancic, Au.D., Ph.D.; Timothy Pendergrass, MPT, PT; Sherry Sancibrian, M.S., CCC-SLP; Katie Bennett, Ph.D., MP (ASCP); Nick Coppola, MSA, MHA.; John P. Jackson, OTR, Ed.D.; Troy L. Hooper, MPT, ATC; Lynn Hamilton, Ph.D., MT (ASCP); Michael Keller, BS, BSN; and Melinda Corwin, Ph.D., CCC-SLP

Outstanding faculty — Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences - Luis Cuello, Ph.D.

Outstanding faculty — School of Medicine - Michael Phy, D.O.; Dennis Dove, M.D., FACS; Christopher G. MacGuire, D.O., FACOG; Jane A. Colmer-Hamood, Ph.D.; James Hutston, Ph.D.; and Robert Kirk Baston, M.D.

Outstanding faculty — School of Nursing - LaMicha Hogan, R.N., MSN; Linda Brice, R.N., Ph.D.; Lori Johnson, MSN, R.N.; Laura Gorby, MSN, R.N.; and Azucena Ortega-Mandani, R.N. MPH

Outstanding faculty — School of Pharmacy - Nikita Mirajkar, Ph.D., and Craig Cox, Pharm.D., BCPS

The Texas Medical Association Lubbock Chapter will be recognized for receiving the section chapter of the year.

For more breaking news and experts, follow @ttuhscnews on Twitter.

Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories

Campus Life

Digital Health Takes Center Stage

TTUHSC announced the establishment of the TTUHSC Institute of Telehealth and Digital Innovation with a ribbon-cutting ceremony.


TTUHSC Receives First VEERA Award

For the first time, TTUHSC has received a Veterans Education Excellence Recognition Award (VEERA) from the Texas Veterans Commission.


TTUHSC Study Explores Intricacies of Healthy Brain Aging

TTUHSC School of Medicine researchers delved into the intricate interplay of biological, psychosocial and environmental factors that may influence healthy cognitive aging.