$2M grant continues research in gastro motility and function disorders - Synapse

A $2 million dollar National Institutes of Health (NIH) grant has been awarded to the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Paul L. Foster School of Medicine’s Department of Internal Medicine Division of Gastroenterology as a continuation of a previous NIH grant awarded toward research regarding gastrointestinal motility and function disorders. The co-lead investigators for this grant are Richard W. McCallum, M.D. and Irene Sarosiek, M.D.

The Paul L. Foster School of Medicine’s Department of Internal Medicine is the site of one of six centers in the nation as a Gastrointestinal Motility Center of Excellence as recognized by the American Neurogastroenterology and Motility Society (ANMS), and funded by the National Institute of Health and National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disease (NIDDK) for projects related to gastroparesis—a condition of very slow movement of food through a partially or completely paralyzed stomach.

Read the full story

Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories


TTUHSC School of Medicine Faculty Member Elected to the Texas Medical Association Board of Trustees

The Texas Medical Association (TMA) elected Rodney Young, M.D., to the TMA Board of Trustees during TexMed 2024, its annual conference in Dallas.


Texas Tech Physicians Announces Website Redesign

This May, Texas Tech Physicians announced the launch of its newly redesigned website. TTUHSC experts address a few questions about the new user experience.


TTUHSC’s Ahmed Investigating Cardiac Cell Regeneration

Mahmoud Salama Ahmed, Ph.D., and an international team of researchers have completed an investigation to uncover novel therapeutics or existing therapeutic regimens previously approved by the FDA for cardiac regeneration.