Faculty Selected for Geriatric Teaching Scholars Program

Two of this year's Geriatric Teaching Scholars will focus on complementary and alternative medicine, like acupressure.

Two of this year's Geriatric Teaching Scholars will focus on complementary and alternative medicine, like acupressure.

Faculty members were recently selected for the Geriatric Education Center’s Interdisciplinary Geriatric Teaching Scholars Program. The program is open to faculty who are non-geriatricians and non-geriatric specialty trained.

The program’s goal is for faculty to interdisciplinarily develop, integrate and disseminate geriatric curricula throughout their specific disciplines or specialties and to other disciplines.

This year’s scholars include Kelly Klein, M.D., associate professor; Kim Peck, M.D., associate dean of admissions and minority affairs; and Yan Zhang, Ph.D., assistant professor in the Division of Health Services Research and Management; all in the Department of Family and Community Medicine in Lubbock. Jamie McCarrell, Pharm. D., with the School of Pharmacy at Amarillo, was also selected.

Klein’s project will focus on resident training in rural based nursing homes. McCarrell’s focus is on the enhancement and standardization of core concepts and disease states within a multi-campus geriatrics clerkship.


Zhang and Peck will be working together to promote awareness among medical students and physicians on the use of complementary and alternative medicine.

In July, the Geriatric Education Center released a request for applications for curricular projects in geriatrics. The center offers travel support for awardees to attend geriatric scientific meetings and training events.

Last year’s scholar was LaMicha Hogan, R.N., MSN, assistant professor in the Anita Thigpen Perry School of Nursing. Hogan’s project encompassed the infusion of end of life care curricula.

Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories


The TTUHSC Laura W. Bush Institute for Women’s Health Welcomes Ben Carson as Power of the Purse Keynote Speaker

Retired neurosurgeon and former U.S. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Ben Carson, M.D., delivered a keynote address at the Power of the Purse luncheon and fundraiser today (April 18).


Filling the Gap: PA Impact on Rural Health Care

Assistant Professor and Director of Clinical Education Elesea Villegas, MPAS, PA-C, spoke about the challenges rural health care currently faces and how PAs are stepping up to better serve the rural patient population.


School of Pharmacy Remembers Contributions of Key Collaborator

Cynthia Nash, Pharm.D., served as an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice for the School, and was an instrumental collaborator and key ally in our partnership with the Dallas VA North Texas Health Care System.