Got Pain? Call Texas Tech Physicians

Becker’s ASC Review has named two Texas Tech Physicians of Lubbock doctors as members of the 70 Best Pain Management Physicians in America.

Gabor Racz, M.D., and Miles Day, M.D., were honored for their awards from major organizations in the field of pain management, leadership in those organizations, work on professional publications and their positions of service held. The physicians underwent substantial review from Becker’s ASC Review staff.

Racz and Day are two of six physicians named to the list in Texas.

Gabor Racz, M.D.

Gabor Racz

Racz is a professor in the Department of Anesthesiology. He completed his medical degree at the University of Liverpool Medical School in England, and an anesthesiology residency at SUNY Upstate Medical Center in Syracuse, N.Y.

In 1977, Racz was appointed the first chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology at TTUHSC, a position he held until 1999. He is a founder and has previously served as president of the World Institute of Pain and is a diplomat with the American College of Pain Management.

Racz is a published physician in books and journals, particularly on topics such as spinal cord and peripheral stimulation, and has been awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians, the largest organization of interventional pain physicians in the world.

Miles Day, M.D.

Miles Day

Day is a professor in the Department of Anesthesiology and director of the Pain Management Fellowship. He received his medical degree from Texas A&M University Health Science Center in College State/Temple and completed his residency and a fellowship in pain management at TTUHSC.

In addition to his practice, Day is a member of the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and served on the board of American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians. He has also previously served as president of the Texas Pain Society, worked as assistant editor for Pain Practice, and served on the Editorial Advisory Board for Pain Physician.

Day has won many distinguished awards throughout his career, including the Excellence in Teaching Award from TTUHSC.

Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories


TTUHSC’s La-Beck to Use NIH Grant to Study Cancer Drug Delivery Via Nanoparticles

Ninh (Irene) La-Beck, Pharm.D., with the TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy, received a five-year, $2.49 million grant to investigate how nanoparticles interact with the immune system and cancer.


TTUHSC’s Wilkerson to Investigate Links Between Pain and Basal Sex Hormone Levels

To help investigate the influence basal sex hormone alterations may have on chronic post-op pain, the NIH recently awarded a grant to Jenny Wilkerson, Ph.D., from the Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy.


Tackling Heart Health for Athletes

Scott Shurmur, M.D., a cardiologist at the Texas Tech Physicians Center for Cardiovascular Health, shared his expertise and his experience as a former collegiate athlete.