Student Government Association Names New Leaders

Student Government Association Names New Leaders

The new student officers outlined their key objectives for the year and honored faculty and senators with awards.

Written by Suzanna Cisneros

Newly elected SGA executive officers (from left) Cavazos, Marquez, Edwards and Russell.

Newly elected SGA executive officers (from left) Cavazos, Marquez, Edwards and Russell.

The Student Government Association (SGA) hosted its awards and annual installation banquet. Newly elected SGA officers, outstanding faculty, students and graduating seniors were honored.

Outgoing SGA officers Hunter Atkins, Eric Edwards, Dalan Gore and Morgan Schmeits were recognized and the new officers for 2014-2015 took their oath of office as the transfer of the gavel was made.

Elected officers include:

  • President – Eric Edwards
  • Vice President of Communications – Rebecca Marquez
  • Vice President of Operations – Mike Russell
  • Vice President of Finance – Sareh Cavazos

Edwards said the SGA serves as the voice for students and this year will focus on a number of key projects.

“The new SGA leadership team will updating fitness equipment in the Synergistic Center; promote healthy food choices in the cafeteria for TTUHSC students; expand the SGA leadership summit by providing 50 tickets to students from satellite campuses; and increase institutional and community awareness of all five schools here at TTUHSC,” Edwards said.

Edwards said this banquet was an opportunity to honor faculty and senators who are mentors and go above and beyond.

“These are the only awards given by students who voted directly for them and it is an honor to host this for the faculty and students who give so much to the institution,” Edwards said.

Awards presented included:

  • Outstanding Organization of the Year – MusiCare
  • Outstanding SGA Committee of the Year – Community Service
  • Outstanding Senator of the Year – Luz Ordaz
  • SGA President’s Award of Excellence
    Sareh Cavazos
    Tori Gauer
    Timmi Ickert
    Luz Ordaz
    Theresa Phan
    Nick Sankowsky
    Bryce Stash
    James Wang
  • Outstanding Faculty – Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
    Luis Cuello, Ph.D., Kendra Rumbaugh, Ph.D.; Min Hee Kang, Pharm.D.; and Lenin Mahimainathan, Ph.D.
  • Outstanding Faculty – School of Medicine
    James Hutson, Ph.D.; Jane Colmer-Hamood, Ph.D.; Edward Yeomans, M.D.; Steven Urban, M.D.; and Charles Sponsel, D.O., MS
  • Outstanding Faculty – School of Nursing
    Debra Winckler, MSN, R.N.; Graciela Flores, DNP, R.N.; and Lisa Campbell, DNP, R.N.
  • Outstanding Faculty – School of Allied Health Sciences
    Toby Brooks, Ph.D., LAT; Jacquelyn Dalton, Ph.D., CRC; C. Roger James, Ph.D., FACSM; Michael Taylor, MPAS, PA-C; Dwayne Paschall, Ph.D., CCC-A; Leigh Ann Reel, Au.D. Ph.D.; Timothy Pendergrass, MPT, PT; Lois Stickley, Ph.D., PT; Jean-Michel Brismee, PT, ScD; James Dembowski, Ph.D., CCC-SLP; Carolyn Perry, Ph.D.; Katie Bennett, Ph.D., MB (ASCP)CM; Robert Posterano, M.D., MBI; Matthew Geddie, OTR, Ph.D.; Lynne Hamilton, Ph.D., MT (ASCP); and Melinda Corwin, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
  • Outstanding Faculty – School of Pharmacy
    Harold Miller, B.A., M.T. (ASCP), Ph.D., and Craig Cox, Pharm.D., BCPS
  • Outstanding Faculty – Paul L. Foster School of Medicine
    Osvaldo Padilla, M.D., MPH; Dale W. Quest, Ph.D.; and Bert Johansson, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Outstanding Faculty – Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing
    Betty Dement, R.N., MSN, and Sandra G. Imperial, R.N., MSN
Image Gallery

Story produced by the Office of Communications and Marketing, (806) 743-2143.

Comments are closed.

Student Government Association
Student Government Association

The Student Government Association advocates for and represents student needs and interests.

Collaborating with students, faculty, student organizations, administration and the community, the Student Government Association strives to promote a campus climate that is inclusive, supportive and student centered.

The association consists of representatives from each of the university's disciplines who assist in the promotion, coordination and direction of student affairs and activities.