Congratulations, Graduates!

Congratulations, Graduates!

Thousands were welcomed into the health care field at the annual commencement ceremony.

Written by Suzanna Cisneros

Students graduating from all TTUHSC schools participated in the ceremony.

Students graduating from all TTUHSC schools participated in the ceremony.

President Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., recently presided over the TTUHSC commencement with students graduating from the schools of medicine, nursing, allied health sciences, pharmacy and the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.

Mitchell said commencement is an exciting time for faculty, students and family members.

“I have the honor of not only presiding over this ceremony, but also witnessing the celebration of all their hard work,” Mitchell said. “These graduates have received an exceptional education and have endless possibilities of contributing to patient care and research across this country.”

A Year of Firsts

  • The first Family Medicine Accelerated Track (FMAT) class from the School of Medicine. The FMAT program was established in 2011 to address the national primary care shortage.
  • First inaugural class of the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine – the Texas House passed Senate Bill 120, which established TTUHSC at El Paso as a standalone university within the Texas Tech University System. The 40-member inaugural class began in 2009.
  • First Doctor of Philosophy in Rehabilitation Sciences degree

More than 1,000 May graduates received degrees in various health disciplines (approximately another 859 students walked in the ceremony as December and August graduates). Hooding and student awards were presented at individual school convocations prior to the commencement ceremony. Awards presented were:

The Dean’s Recognition Award for the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences – Kyle Miller, M.S.

Outstanding Graduate Student – Gurvinder Kaur, Ph.D.

The School of Medicine Gold Headed Cane Award – Jason P. Cooper, M.D.

Paul L. Foster School of Medicine – Thomas Tullius, M.D.

Dean’s Highest Academic Achievement Awards in the School of Medicine – Morgan Marino, M.D.

Graduating military students received recognition and wore special stoles during the commencement ceremony.

Graduating military students received recognition and wore special stoles during the commencement ceremony.

Dean’s Recognition Award – Amy Shekarchi, M.D., and Morgan Marino, M.D.

Paul L. Foster School of Medicine – Benjamin Ramos

School of Nursing Dean’s Award for Excellence-Doctorate – David Marshall, MSN, RN

School of Nursing Dean’s Award for Excellence-Graduate – Kimberly Fakhreddine, BSN, RN

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Nursing-Undergraduate – Brenda Ogutu, BSN

The School of Allied Health Sciences Dean’s Award for Excellence-Graduate – Alexandra Lozada-Pelcynski, MOT

Dean’s Award for Excellence-Undergraduate – Mariah Turner, SLHS

The School of Pharmacy Bowl of Hygieia Award – Chiamaka Chinweizu Ike, Pharm.D.

Highest GPA in the School of Pharmacy – Meredith Ann Sigler, Pharm.D.

Honoring the Brave

Prior to commencement, graduating military students were honored at a commissioning ceremony led by Richard Lampe, M.D., professor and chairman of the Department of Pediatrics, a retired colonel who served in the U.S. Army from 1968 to 1992.

During the ceremony, medical students representing the U.S. Air Force and U.S. Army took the oath of office and received the rank of captain.

For more commencement photos, visit us on .


Story produced by the Office of Communications and Marketing, (806) 743-2143.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Beginning in 1969 as Texas Tech University School of Medicine, TTUHSC now is a six-school university with campuses in Abilene, Amarillo, Dallas/Fort Worth, El Paso, Lubbock, Midland and Odessa.

TTUHSC has trained more than 20,000 health care professionals, and meets the health care needs of more than 2.5 million people in the 108 counties including those in the Texas Panhandle and eastern New Mexico.

Connect with TTUHSC on and .